Snacks lately

Standard

So apparently this is a food blog? And I’m supposed to post about food? I’ve definitely noticed a lack of creativity in the kitchen, mostly because assembling actual meals seems a bit ridiculous. But I’m still into substantial snacks, and these are the ones I’ve been into lately

Qualifications for a good snack (as declared by me)

  • Must be nutritious. Chocolate is not a snack, even if you eat half a bar.
  • Must take less than 10 minute to assemble
  • Must be in the 200-300 calorie ball park

I know a lot of “snack packs” are 100 calories or less or some shit, but that just does not work for my lifestyle. I don’t like to spend my whole day obsessing about food. I like to not be hungry. This means I have to eat more calories at one sitting! Honestly, accepting this philosophy took a lot of time for me, and has been really integral in my continuing positive relationship with food.

1. Pan roasted plantains with quick guac (mashed avocado, salt, garlic powder). carb city bitch. Oven-Roasted Plantain Chips

{gonna try this recipe for oven roasted plantains soon!!)

Bonus: now that said plantains are too sweet for savory snacking, I’ll be blending em into pancakes

2. Bananas and berries with coconut butter/milk and cinnamon.

bananas and blueb

 

Honestly, is anything covered in coconut milk not good? I have recently discovered that it is worth the splurge to get Thai Kitchen brand, it is so so much better in terms of texture and separation. No more 99c Grace coconut milk for me (but I will never stop buying their 8$ coconut oil, too much of a steal).

3. Microwaved chopped apple with cinnamon and cashew butter

vaguely reminiscent of pie, never a bad thing

4. Gluten free toast with 1/2 mashed avocado and a hard boiled egg (multiply this by two and that’s breakfast)

IMG_1561

Breakfast with a side of study notes before a midterm.

There you have it! Although snacks 1 and 4 aren’t super portable, I often bring chopped apple and nut butter in a tupperware to the lab with me if I’m going to be here all day.

 

A friend showed me this artist last week, and I’ve been pretty obsessed

One response »

Leave a Reply

