Apple Crisp Cereal

Standard

Hi!

Two blog posts in a row?! Don’t get too excited, knowing me I’ll probably go on a blogging/cooking streak until tomorrow and then fall off the face of the internet again. But for now, I blog!

I had the most epic fail of a recipe last week. I roasted this butternut squash in cinnamon and honey (amazing by itself), and decided to get crafty and make some sort of protein/squash pancake. I’d seen a similar recipe on CarrotsNCake, and true to form, I decided the recipe given was more of a “guideline” and just kinda winged it. Result was a delicious tasting squashy batter that would not form ANY SHAPE, despite attempts to salvage it and make a loaf. It was super annoying cause it smelled and tasted amazing but it literally could not hold itself together (cmon squash get a grip!). I ended up hurling the sad, congealed mess into the garbage and stress eating some maple peanut butter in frustration (side note: maple peanut butter is amazing).

For those who don’t know me/live with me (I recognize that this is most of you), I rarely follow recipes exactly. I find it very limiting, and honestly believe that true cooking shouldn’t involve a recipe, but be more about understanding flavors and the way they work together. That said, I have a huge cookbook collection. In fact, once I called a friend from Indigo for advice, torn up over the decision to get Gluten-Free, Naturally or Veganomicon, only to have her try to explain to me that there are other books to be read and I should maybe try branching out in the bedtime reading department (thanks Ana Maria, but I actually ended up getting both…).

This cookbook is my absolute favorite because it acts more as a guideline for awesome (and surprising) flavor pairings, but also kinda reads like a novel…I usually have this sitting on my bedside table cause I like to flip through it sometimes if I can’t sleep. If you know someone who loves to cook, get them this book. It’s like no other.

flavor thesaurus

I love reading cookbooks for ideas (and pictures), and I by no means claim to invent everything I make, I just like to read the recipe, skim the ingredients, then put on some Head and the Heart and start cooking. Does this lead to mistakes? Yeeeeees it does. Squash pancake is a perfect example of this. But you have to make mistakes to learn, and I really think that you need these mistakes to grow as a cook and eventually learn how to make recipes yourself. e.g I now know that if I’m attempting to put squash/substances with high water content  into a baked good, I have to really be careful with how much of it I add in relation to the flour if I don’t want to use eggs. Or, since I’m not vegan, I’ll just use eggs.

I also find that a lot of people read recipes like they’re written in stone, and while this is important for a lot of beginner cooks to get the idea of where to even start, I think it really discourages cooks from branching out! My motto is: really what’s the worst that can happen? If something is undercooked at the time it’s supposed to be done, put it in for longer and watch it. If you like a lot of cinnamon, put in two tablespoons. And if it doesn’t work out, the next challenge is figuring out how to salvage it.

 

TL;DR Rant about cookbooks, recipe starts here

 

Enter apple crisp cereal! Another kitchen experiment that required a little impromptu recipe salvaging. This idea was born on my couch, last night, out of an intense craving for my mom’s apple crisp. I am honestly an apple crisp fiend. Any fruit/oatmeal combo usually results in me losing all notion of portion control, but apple crisp…..I would eat it every day. It’s like, last meal type of food for me.

So I got to chopping, mixing, layering and waiting, and took it out when the top was starting to brown. Also me and boyfriend were getting a bit impatient. However, the apples weren’t totally cooked through. This presents a two fold problem (theres the boring scientist in me); the apples aren’t soft and mushy, and also they haven’t released all of their juice to really gel the whole mixture together. The top was kinda (very) crumbly, and it just wasn’t exactly what I was expecting.

Two bowls in (hey, I’m not gonna just abandon it cause its not perfect), I had the genius idea of chopping up the apple slices into smaller pieces, adding milk and calling it cereal. Life=changed. Boyfriend and I both agreed that it was amazing, and I ate it for breakfast the next morning.

apple

{I forgot to take a picture before eating it all…but hey look at this stock photo of an apple!}

Apple Crisp Cereal

Feel free to extend the cooking time by ~15 minutes if you just want regular apple crisp. Also this recipe is vegan!

4 medium apples
2 cups of large flake oats
1 2/3 cup + 2 tbsp flour of choice (I used oat flour cause I’m into it lately)
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup coconut oil
2 tbsp cinnamon ( i am a cinnamon fiend, so feel free to reduce if this is too much for you)
1 tsp nutmeg (I am not a nutmeg fiend)
pinch salt
1/3 cup maple syrup

1. Preheat oven to 350. Slice apples into thin slices (keep peel on or off, your choice) and place into small , greased baking dish.

2. Shake 2 tbsp of flour and a pinch of cinnamon onto apples in pan, and toss around until evenly coated

3. Make the topping: Combine oats, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and remaining flour into bowl. Mix around. Add in melted coconut oil and maple syrup, try not to lick hands clean.

4. Shake topping mixture onto apple mixture, place in oven and set timer for 45 minutes, go watch Girls (if you don’t like Girls, feel free to watch your show of choice…but you should really give it a shot).

5. Come back when timer goes off, check to see if apples are crispy or soft, and if top is browned. If you want softer apples, leave it in for a few more minutes and come back, or take it out, pour on milk and feast!

This song is usually stuck in my head several times a week, which I don’t mind because it’s great (also how good is this live version?!)

)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Cookbooks for the vegetarian-inclined, creative, 20 something cook+ Baked Banana | Chocolate Chili Chai

Leave a Reply

