Stir fry so saucy

Standard

Oh heeeey there,

Wussup blog world, how you been?! It’s been awhile, I’m sorry. Third year of Life Sci isnt fooling around, and I’ve been very very busy lately. Between the extracurriculars, job, studying and time logged in bed watching TV (necessity) I have not had ample opportunities to blog. My bad.

So that’s my life lately. School, work, volunteer, gym, friends, school, repeat. Nearing the end of my third year, and since I’m a year behind my high school class, this means many of my greatest friends will be leaving the Queen’s bubble in April, including my one and only BFF (and current roomie). I’m so excited for everyone to go out and do cool, adult things with their lives, but also sad cause I’ll be pining away for them here in Kingston.

My eats lately have been pretty typical, but with one major addition: coffee. I have resisted coffee until now because it tastes like dirt and gave me a headache, but I recently found out you can drink through that stage and find yourself in the wonderfully focused and awake stage. So I’m there now, and expect it will be a matter of weeks until I can’t wake up without it. I blame the department of Life Sciences. Also OBSESSED with breakfast sandwiches and blood oranges right now…..

File:BloodOrange.jpg

{photo stolen from Wikipedia, dont hate cause its better than what I could have done}

 

and this GENIUS concoction David’s Tea just came out with….my favourite tea blended into chocolate. I have literally never thought less about a purchase because I was so sure I would love it.

IMG_1167

So the recipe behind this post has some backstory. For years, adults/cookbooks/blogs always talked about how easy stir fry is (or maybe this was just my mom? idk). You just make some rice, put some veggies and protein in a pan and its done! easy!

False. Not easy. Once I started cooking for myself consistently, stir fry was always a struggle for me. Which I found especially annoying cause everyone talked about how simple and healthy it was. I’d naively add these colorful vegetables and chicken into a pan and be all lalalala easiest meal on the planet says everyone, and yet what emerged from the pan was a soggy, wet, tasteless mush. To which I’d pathetically sprinkle sesame seeds on and force down, cause food is expensive and I’m lazy.

HOWEVER, I got pretty determined to make a good, quick stir fry and figured out its alllll about the sauce. Yes, you can buy that neon orangey colored sauce in the “international” section of the grocery store and just slather it on. I wouldn’t even judge you cause I have beeeeeeen there, my friend. OR you can make this sauce for the nights you’re feeling gourmet and want to prove to yourself that you will not let stir fry beat you again (I may be alone with that last one…)

Build your own stir fry + Sauce recipe

IMG_1166

Again, this recipe is more of a concept, so feel free to play around. It’s a lot like the format for my Buddha Bowl in that there’s a carb,a protein, and a veggie component with the sauce adding some healthy fats.

The sauce tho. Don’t forget it. Also make lots, you’ll want more than you think.

Carb options

  • Vermicelli Noodles: my personal fave. I buy the brown rice ones and they cook in literally 3 minutes
  • RIce: any kind is good
  • Zucchini noodles: I’ve wanted to try this but am afraid the zucchini might add too much water to the bowl, resulting in the notorious soggy stir fry mess I’ve experienced in the past.

Protein

  • Chicken: the obvious choice, and a good one. I like to cut the chicken into small chunks and just cook it in the same pan as the veggies to save on dishes and keep the chicken from drying out.
  • Tofu: crispy tofu cubes on top of this would be amaaazing, but dont cook these in the pan like the chicken cause I suspect the veggies would keep the tofu pretty wet.
  • Beef: I hear people like to put some forms of beef in stir fry? Not my area of expertise (clearly) but I imagine its an option!

Veggies

  • Shredded cabbage, carrots, green onion: my faaaave!!! I love cabbage. So filling and crisp.
  • Broccoli, red pepper and orange: reminds me of cashew chicken from the chinese place we used to order from when I was a kid (Ho-Lee-Chow why did you leave us). always a good thing
  • Shredded kale, green onion and orange peppers: one of the stranger combinations, but still good

THE SAUCE (serves 2 generously)

  • 3 grated garlic cloves
  • grated ginger, to taste
  • 1.5 tbsp hoisin sauce
  • 2 tsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • sriarcha, to taste
  • juice of a whole small orange (note: add pulp too, it makes the orangey flavor more pronounced)
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil (AKA LIQUID GOLD I WOULD BATHE IN THIS IF I COULD

Make this sauce while your veggies are stirring and frying, then pour on everything and feel accomplished. Top with cashews/green onions/sesame seeds.

Hope you guys enjoy! One of my finer recipes, I’d say.

Currently obsessed with this song

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Meals for the week | Chocolate Chili Chai

Leave a Reply

