Avalanche!!!

Standard

Soo this happened on friday…

IMG_0739

Yeah, its about up to my thighs in the unplowed part (which is most of my street unfortunately). They actually cancelled classes!! Thankfully after my midterm, I didn’t want that hanging over my head til Tuesday. This large amount of snow really emphasized that we need a shovel in our house. Although I felt very authentically Canadian digging out my friends car with my hands, it was highly ineffective.

Faced with a literal wall of snow when I open my door, it is safe to say that I will be staying in for a large portion of this weekend. So I might as well make some snacks!!! I’ve made this recipe a few times, and its perfect for when I want something sweet but also filling. Also, it reminds me how much I neglect brown rice…..it aint always about the quinoa!

Here ya go!

Chai Infused Brown Rice Pudding

Ingredients

-1 cup brown rice

-1/2 cup raisins (optional)

-1 tbsp loose leaf chai tea (loose leaf will give a better flavor but bags will work too)

-1 cup maple syrup or 3/4 cup honey or1 cup sugar

-2 1/2 cups milk of choice (I went with half coconut, half 1%, but you could also do half water if youre trying to keep the calories low)

-2 tbsp chia seeds (optional, but awesome)

-1 tbsp cinnamon

-1 tbsp vanilla

-pinch sea salt

Makes about 4 serving

Directions

1. Put your milk on the stove in a medium sauce pan, heat on medium. Stir often.

2. You’re going to infuse your milk with tea now, so depending on the kind of tea you have (bags, loose) put that in there. Here’s how mine looked

IMG_0732

{thats my little infuser}

3. As an amazing smell wafts over your kitchen, measure out the rice. Let the steeping process go on for about 3-5 minutes, depending on how strong you want your flavor.

4. Bring the milk to a gentle boil, add the rice, spices, and sweetener. Stir often

IMG_0733

5. After about 15 minutes, do a taste test on your rice. It should be chewy, but not hard. If it seems good, take your pot off the heat (don’t worry, it should look very liquidy, this is pudding not real rice!)

6. Add in raisins and chia seeds, and let it set for about 10 minutes.

IMG_0734

{The finished product. Thought: I need to work on my photography}

7. Eat!!

Tip: if youre rice pudding dries out a bit while microwaving it for seconds (ya I did), just top it off with a splash more milk.

This recipe is soooo good! A perfect companion for the weather.

You probably noticed I included chia seeds (WHOA chia is one letter away from being chai! cool!). If you don’t already know, these little guys are great! They have a ton of omega 3s in them, and theyre really useful for baking because they’re a great binding agent. When they get wet they get a little jelly coating around them and it really makes things stick together. They don’t have a very defined taste, so you can toss em into anything!

Here’s a little more info on chia seeds, and a great chia pudding recipe from Angela.

Anyways, I’m going to go have a mug of tea the size of my face and catch up on Greys (BEST. MORNING. EVER.), have an excellent weekend!! If you got snowed in too, stay safe! The roads are craaaazy. Here’s an excellent song to get your morning going.

{I am slightly obsessed with The Lumineers. This is one of those rare albums where every song is awesome. They just announced their tour to Canada, and once again I am thankful my parents decided to raise our family in Toronto. I CAN’T WAIT!}

Leave a Reply

