Chemistry, Anatomy and Muffins

Standard

Hewwooooo,

It’s been a pretty laid back Saturday at mi casa. First of all, my house is pretty empty. Good for studying/using my incredibly noisy food processor.

Second, it’s so pretty out! If I stay in my jammies, drink enough tea, and occasionally look outside I can convince myself that I’m having fun staying cooped up in my room reading about organic chem for 4 hours.

IMG_0728

{this is the view from the balcony in my room. I can’t go out there, the landlords deemed it unsafe and put a stopper on my door, so sometimes I just press my nose up against it and pretend}

After a 3 am indulgence in pizza pizza that may or may not have been related to alcohol consumption, I woke up with a weird feeling tummy. I’ve been eating pretty well lately, sticking to clean proteins, healthy fats and slow carbs, and I think my system was just in shock at the amount of crap I put in it. However, I am a firm believer in the Julia Child motto, “Everything in moderation, including moderation”.

To remedy this situation and get me back on track, I decided to make some muffins for the week! I accidentally bought wayy too many veggies for the eggplant lasagna (it was originally going to include zucchini), I had a veggie crisper that overfloweth.

Enter Zucchini Muffins!

Zucchini Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

The amount of fiber in these muffins is impressive, but I guess a whole banana and zucchini will do that. Because the fruit/veggies make these really moist, they take a WHILE to cook, so bear that in mind while you’re whipping em up. Luckily, the prep is really short!

Ingredients

Makes 6 muffins

  • 1 small zucchini, grated
  • 1 medium ripe banana, mashed
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup choco chips
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 egg white
  • 2/3 cup oil (I used coconut, but any oil would work)
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup or 1/3 cup honey or 1/2 cup sugar, whatever you got on hand
  • 1/2 cup milk or water

1. Preheat the oven to 375.

2. Mix wet ingredients together: zucchini, banana, egg white, oil milk/water, maple syrup or honey.

3. Mix dry ingredients together in separate bowl: flour, baking soda and power, sea salt and cinnamon,

4. Mix both bowls of ingredients together, and pour into muffin cups. Bake for about an hour or until a toothpick/fork comes out clean.

IMG_0730

{the aftermath}

These muffins are soo good, and full of healthy fats, fiber and whole grains. And chocolate chips. In other words, exactly what I want in a muffin. I better get my butt back to my desk (First midterm in less than 2 days….wahhh), so see ya later!

Something to cheer up fellow students who have also realized they actually have to start studying

One response »

  1. omg love this blog, maybe if I’m good I can be featured?! LOLZ ur such a celeb, I wanna BE you! xoxoxoxoxoxox gossip michelle

Leave a Reply

