Date Night! ft. Ryan

Standard

Hey world,

Today has been a very busy but good day. We learned about the very elusive lymphatic system today in my anatomy class (elusive because I am in 2nd year Life Sciences and, until today,  had no idea what the spleen did…)

Reminded me of this little guy….

Look at him go!

Anyways, tonight is DAAATE NIIIIGHT! date night with who, you may ask? me and my new basil plant?

IMG_0725

{So cute! it was the same price as a bunch of fresh basil, so if it doesn’t die in like, a week, itll be worth it!}

But no. Not my date. My date is this guy!

IMG_0717

Meet Ryan. He’s my awesome boyfriend, who tolerates my prolonged indecision at the grocery store, is a bit of a genius, and buys me perrier when I’m broke. Also I love him LOTS AND LOTS.

Since we spend pretty much all day in class together with our friends  (and in labs…and projects…) we decided we need to have some more couple time. Revolutionary, I know. So it’s looking like were gonna try and cook dinner together every week!

But we have vastly different palates, as well as opinions on certain types of cheese, so I’d say were probably not going to be making the exact same thing.

Last week we did pizza, but this week, continuing with the italian theme, we decided on LASAGNA! minor setback: I don’t eat pasta. Haven’t for a couple years now, and after trying to make myself like soba noodles cause I adore tomato sauce, I just don’t see the point. It tastes like nothing!

So I set out to find some kind of alternative. Due to my previously mentioned love for tomato sauce, finding pasta substitutes is one of my specialties. Zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash noodles, and now….EGGPLANT noodles!

I’d read some recipes for ‘low carb’ veggie-noodle lasagnas, and although I’m not super concerned with the carb aspect (if you had seen the amount of garlic bread I had before dinner you would see what I mean), I am always trying to get more veggies in. And eggplant is one of the many vegetables I need to use more, so it was perfect!

Eggplant-Noodle Chicken Lasagna

IMG_0724 IMG_0721

I used ground chicken cause I’m not a big pork fan and its leaner, leaving more of my daily saturated fats for CHEESE! mmmmm. Feel free to substitute ground beef or pork

Makes one lasagna

Ingredients

  • 1 medium eggplant
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 jar tomato sauce (I usually like organic tomato sauce cause I find it has a purer flavor)
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and grated (note: I find garlic to give a much better yield if you grate a peeled clove on a fine grater…you get fresh garlic puree, and its faster than finely chopping)
  • fresh basil! about 5 leaves, depending on your preference
  • 1 1/2 cups ricotta cheese
  • 1 tsp salt ( I almost always use garlic salt cause I love garlic, but regular is good!)
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp each oregano and thyme
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup fresh parmesan flakes
  • 1 lb ground chicken

Directions

1.Preheat oven the 375.  Heat up the oil in a frying pan on medium heat, and chop up your onion. Grate 2 cloves of garlic, and pop these and the onion in the pan.

2. Once the onions have released a little bit of their moisture, add in the chicken. Season it a bit with a pinch of salt, pepper, and chili (if you like chili).

3. Let the chicken/onion mix cook a bit while you slice your eggplant layers! they should be about as thick as your index finger. start laying the foundation layer in your pan (a deeper dish 8×12 is perfect).

4. Stir chicken around, and let it cook until its no longer pink. This should take a bit longer, so mix up your ricotta layer. Mix cheese, oregano, basil, and more salt and pepper. Give er a bit of a taste test, and make sure its not too bland! Spread about half onto your eggplant layer.

5. Once the chicken is cooked its smooth sailing. Add the chicken, and then add more layers to your hearts content/pan depth.

6. Sprinkle parmesan on top layer and wrap the whole thing with tinfoil. Place in oven for 1 hr, removing the tinfoil about 40 min in let the cheese get all crispy and amazing.

Enjoy!

PS. This was Ryans lasagna. We’re calling it the Behemoth…

IMG_0723 IMG_0722

Ryan’s Music Request….

One response »

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Feast « Chocolate Chili Chai

Leave a Reply

