Wussup blog world?!

Standard

I have been wanting to start a blog for approximately 2 years now, and even though I should be studying (ALWAYS), this is a very momentous occasion for me.  I trust my hoardes of followers are already checking to see if I’ve posted something, so I’ll get to it.

I was doing my usual blog troll this afternoon, and came across something amazing. First, a lil bit of back story. The Fitnessista was the first healthy living blog I came across, and it kinda changed my entire attitude surrounding healthy eating and fitness. It could be fun! Delicious! I was working at a bank, living alone, and slightly miserable so reading her posts were like having a really fun, fit friend who had great ideas for dinner. Anyways, she has always posted pictures of her raw macaroons and never given the recipe, instead saving them for a future cook book.

Until today! Well no, not actually. This recipe was posted a while ago and I never noticed. I was into the archives today (during  a particularly boring lecture) and discovered this little treasure. So I decided to make them!

Fitnessista Raw Red Velvet Macaroons

-2 2/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

-1/3 cup cocoa powder

-1 1/3 cup almond meal

-1 cup maple syrup

-1/4 cup beet juice (for color)

-pinch cinnamon

-1 t vanilla

-pinch sea salt

Dehydrate for ~36 hours

macaroons

I made some minor changes: no beet juice (I wish!), and I halved the recipe, because maple syrup aint cheap.

Side note: Since I omitted the beet juice aka red coloring, does this make these macaroons just ‘velvet’ macaroons?

After taking this pic, I decided to test drive one and holy moly it was so good. Like a warm, coconut brownie thing, that was crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. This was only 4 hours in the dehydration station too. They’re supposed to get even crispier, but I might turn it off early because a) I like them with chewy middles and b) 36 straight hours of dehydrating will jack up my utilities bill, something I dont need any help with in a room with an uninsulated closet and space heater.

Heres a really sweet soundtrack for macaroon making:

This was fun! Yay for blogging! I will most likely be back tomorrow. Thanks fans!!!!

Leave a Reply

